



40th Anniversary of the Materials Science Department - FCT / UNL Programme

16h30 Guest Reception

17h00 Opening

Head of Materials Science Department - Professor Rodrigo Martins

Lectures – Guests of Honor:

17h05 Professor Jean Etourneau - ICMCB-CNRS/ Univ. de Bordeaux, France
"Promoting Creativity and Innovation through Education and Training in the Field of
Materials"

17h35 Doctor Michael Popall - Director ISC International/Fraunhofer, Germany
"Nano and nano-scaled inorganic and hybrid inorganic-organic materials: a challenge
and chance for next generation of smart applications and their production"

18h00 Founder of Materials Science Department - Professor Leopoldo Guimarães

18h20 Dean of Faculty- Professor Fernando Santana

18h30 Rector of UNL – Professor António Rendas

18h45 Representative of Pedagogical Committees: Pedro Sousa – "The voice of students"

18h50 Attribution on Notable Awards to personalities connected to Materials Science Department:

Leopoldo Guimarães

Former Dean of UNL Elvira Fortunato

Deputy Chair of SAM High-Level Group

Luís Miguel Sanches CEO of Autoeuropa Rodrigo Martins

Deputy Chair of EMIRI
Cláudia Ranito

CEO of Medbone Paulo Sá e Cunha

Administrator of ANI

Isabel Ferreira

ERC - Consolidator Grant winner

Luís Pereira

ERC - Starting ERC - Starting Grant winner

Pedro Barquinha

Award "Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian"

Luís Matos Director of INCM Gonçalo Andrade

Director of Cloud Division - IBM Portugal

Maria Teresa Cidade

President of the Portuguese Society of Rheology

Maria Teresa Nogueira

Former President of Portuguese Section of the International Amnesty-

Portugal

José Marat-Mendes

Former President of the Portuguese Society of Materials

Alain Pereira

Head of Almada City Council President's Office

19h50 Commemorative Dinner – Ágora Room

21h00 Closure - Performance of anTUNiA

