Elvira Maria Correia Fortunato

Professora Catedrática
+351 21 294 96 30
Elvira Fortunato, currently the Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education of Portugal (30th March 2022-…), was Vice‐Rector at Nova University since September 2017-2022, Director of the Materials Research Center (CENIMAT) and the integrated Associate Laboratory i3N, the Institute of Nanostructures, Nanomodeling and Nanofabrication (The only Portuguese research centre (1998-2022) classified as Exceptional in the Advanced Materials and Nanotechnologies area in the last national evaluation); Invited Professor at Universidade Federal de Lavras, Brazil (2013-2022).

She has held other Institutional Responsibilities, such as, Deputy Director of FCT NOVA (2014-17); Coordinator of Research Centers of FCT NOVA (2006-17); Member of the Executive Board of the Materials Science Department (2009-17); Coordinator of the Doctoral Programme in Nanosciences and Nanotechnology, FCT NOVA (2009-18); Member of the Scientific Committee of the PhD Program in Biomaterials (UFLA, Brasil) (2014-2022). Participation in several academic examination referees board (PhD juries in and abroad Portugal).

She has received her Bachelor´s degree in Physics and Materials Engineering in 1987, obtaining, in 1995, the PhD in Microelectronics and Optoelectronics.

Elvira Fortunato pioneered European research on transparent electronics, namely thin-film transistors based on oxide semiconductors, demonstrating that oxide materials may be used as true semiconductors. She is co-inventor of the paper electronics concept worldwide: Paper-e®. In 2008 she wins an Advanced Grant from the European Research Council (ERC) for the project “Invisible” and in 2018 she received the second one ERC, with the amount of € 3.5 million. The project is entitled "Multifunctional Digital Materials Platform for Smart Integrated Applications | DIGISMART".

She has been distinguished with several National and International Prizes, among those it is worth mentioning the title of Doctor Honoris Causa, in 2009, by University of Galati, and the denomination of Grand Officer of Order of Prince Henry the Navigator, acknowledged by the President of the Republic of Portugal in 2010, the Blaise Pascal Medal conferred by the European Academy of Sciences, 2016, the Czochralski Medal (Science of Materials) assigned by the Polish Academy of Sciences in 2017, Award women of the year Science Category LUX in 2018,  and the Honourable Mention of the Scientific Prize of City of Almada in 2019.
The most recent awards are:
- In September 2020, received the European Commision's Horizon Impact Award 2020;
- Winner of the 2020 Pessoa Award (March 2021);
- The World Federation of Engineering Organizations (WFEO) GREE Women in Engineering Award 2020 (08th April 2021);
- Gold Medal Human Rights 2020 Award recognition granted by the President of the Assembly of the Republic of Portugal (07th July 2021).

She is an elected member of the Materials Research Society (1987), Portuguese Materials Society (1990), Portuguese Professional Engineering Association (1990), Portuguese Engineering Academy (2008), European Academy of Sciences (2016), Portuguese Physics Society (2017), Lisbon Academy of Sciences (2018), Member Academia Europaea (2019). She belongs to the Board of Trustees of the Luso‐American Development Foundation (2014).
Since 2016, she is one of the members of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors from the European Commission.

Editorial Advisory Board Member of ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces ACS-AMI (2020-2022), Editorial Board of IEEE Electron Device Letters (2020).

Among these years, she has participated as Plenary, Keynote and Invited Speaker, in several International and National events.

Interesses Científicos

Transparent electronics; Thin Film Transistors; Metal oxide semiconductors; Thin films; Microelectronics; Nanotechnologies and Biosensors.



Publicações Representativas

10 publicações representativas (Researcher ID: E-2590-2011)

1. Carlos, E., Branquinho, R., Martins, R., & Fortunato, E. (2021). New challenges of printed high-к oxide dielectrics. Solid-State Electronics, 183, 108044. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sse.2021.108044

2. Carvalho, A. F., Kulyk, B., Fernandes, A. J. S., Fortunato, E., & Costa, F. M. (2021). A Review on the Applications of Graphene in Mechanical Transduction. Advanced Materials, 2101326, 2101326. https://doi.org/10.1002/adma.202101326

3. Claro, P. I. C., Marques, A. C., Cunha, I., Martins, R. F. P., Pereira, L. M. N., Marconcini, J. M., … Fortunato, E. (2021). Tuning the Electrical Properties of Cellulose Nanocrystals through Laser-Induced Graphitization for UV Photodetectors. ACS Applied Nano Materials, 4(8), 8262–8272. https://doi.org/10.1021/acsanm.1c01453

4. Ferreira, S. H., Cunha, I., Pinto, J. V., Neto, J. P., Pereira, L., Fortunato, E., & Martins, R. (2021). UV-Responsive Screen-Printed Porous ZnO Nanostructures on Office Paper for Sustainable and Foldable Electronics. Chemosensors, 9(8), 192. https://doi.org/10.3390/chemosensors9080192

5. Marques, A. C., Pinheiro, T., Morais, M., Martins, C., Andrade, A. F., Martins, R., … Fortunato, E. (2021). Bottom-up microwave-assisted seed-mediated synthesis of gold nanoparticles onto nanocellulose to boost stability and high performance for SERS applications. Applied Surface Science, 561, 150060. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.apsusc.2021.150060

6. Nunes, D., Fragoso, A. R., Freire, T., Matias, M., Marques, A. C., Martins, R. F. de P., … Pimentel, A. (2021). Ultrafast Microwave Synthesis of WO 3 Nanostructured Films for Solar Photocatalysis. Physica Status Solidi (RRL) – Rapid Research Letters, 15(9), 2100196. https://doi.org/10.1002/pssr.202100196

7. Oliveira, M. J., Cunha, I., de Almeida, M. P., Calmeiro, T., Fortunato, E., Martins, R., … Franco, R. (2021). Reusable and highly sensitive SERS immunoassay utilizing gold nanostars and a cellulose hydrogel-based platform. Journal of Materials Chemistry B, 9(36), 7516–7529. https://doi.org/10.1039/D1TB01404H

8. Oliveira, R. D., Mouquinho, A., Centeno, P., Alexandre, M., Haque, S., Martins, R., … Mendes, M. J. (2021). Colloidal Lithography for Photovoltaics: An Attractive Route for Light Management. Nanomaterials, 11(7), 1665. https://doi.org/10.3390/nano11071665

9. Nandy, S., Goswami, S., Marques, A., Gaspar, D., Grey, P., Cunha, I., … Martins, R. (2021). Cellulose: A Contribution for the Zero e‐Waste Challenge. Advanced Materials Technologies, 6(7), 2000994. https://doi.org/10.1002/admt.202000994

10. Cardoso, A. R., Frasco, M. F., Serrano, V., Fortunato, E., & Sales, M. G. F. (2021). Molecular Imprinting on Nanozymes for Sensing Applications. Biosensors, 11(5), 152. https://doi.org/10.3390/bios11050152



Researcher ID:



Google Scholar:

Ciência Vitae